What to do with jumbo sea scallops?

I was at The Meat Market yesterday and decided to buy some scallops for the first time EVER.  Since then, I’ve been thinking about what to do with them.  I looked online for a bit and then I asked my friends on Facebook.

Thankfully, Kelly responded with her fool-proof recipe for Grilled Scallops with Red Pepper Sauce.

Here’s how it went down.

I assembled the ingredients – all five of them:
I assembled the ingredients

Blended the wine, chicken broth, and red peppers:
put the wine, chicken broth, and red peppers in the blender

Put the blended mixture into a frying pan and added the basil:
put the mixture into a frying pan and added the basil

Then, I turned around to see that I had an audience!
p1020005

Here they are… 1/2 pound of seafood goodness:
p1020007edit1

I even brought out the fancy spatula for this occasion:
p1020010

The finished product:
p1020014

…and here is what Jim had for dinner:
p10200151

I happened to have some marinated teriyaki steak that I took out for my non-seafood loving husband.  I cooked it up, put it over salad, and sprinkled on some balsamic dressing.  I wanted him to taste the red pepper sauce, so I boiled some cheese tortellini and put the sauce over top.

Both were a hit!

Leave a comment